Bookmark and Share

Open the online Arabic language course

Open map of LibyaFlag of LibyaLibya / Geography /
Acacus mountains
Arabic: tadrārt 'akākūs

Takharkhouri region of the Acacus mountains, Libya.
ZOOM - Open a large version of this image

Takharkhouri region.

Open satellite view

Acacus mountains

Wadi Tashwinat in the Acacus mountains, Libya.
ZOOM - Open a large version of this image

Wadi Tashwinat.

Rock art in the Acacus mountains, Libya date back 12,000-14,000 years.
ZOOM - Open a large version of this image

Rock art in the Acacus mountains date back 12,000-14,000 years.

Travel information from
LookLex / Libya
Acacus Mountains: Introduction
Wadi Tanshal
Wadi Tashwinat
Rock Art

Mountain range in south-western Libya, and a subrange of the Hoggar mountains of Algeria. Acacus lies southwest of the Fezzan area of central Libya.
The range runs north to south, ca. 100 km long and at its widest 45 km. It is clearly delineated and largely defines the southwestern border to Algeria.
The Acacus represent one of the areas of wildest nature that is inhabited in the Sahara, and the largest city is Ghat.
The region holds a great selection of prehistoric rock art, dating back 12,000 to 14,000 years in time. The rock art was inscribed in the UNESCO World Heritage list in 1985. The art depicts humans and animals, like giraffes, elephants, ostriches, camels and horses. All a reflection of the daily life before the desertification of the Sahara.
The nature changes between rough mountains and sand dunes. The mountains form many impressive shapes, like arches, gorges, isolated rocks and deep ravines.
There are pockets with water supplies, and river beds that allow vegetation, but nowhere enough to permit permanent human settlement.
There has been search for petroleum in the area in recent years, without yet making sustainable finds.

By Tore Kjeilen